Skip to Content

Juneteenth recognized in all 50 states

(CNN, KYMA/KECY) - It's time for the nation to commemorate the end of slavery in the United States as Wednesday is "Juneteenth."

In 2021, Congress passed legislation making June 19 a federal holiday. President Joe Biden later signed the bill into law declaring Juneteenth as "National Independence Day."

You can celebrate by attending one of the many "Juneteenth" festivals and events planned around the country in honor of the day.

In Texas, the enslavement of black people ended on June 19, 1865, after more than two centuries of slavery and a bloody civil war. Major General Gordon Granger made the announcement on that day in Galveston.

The Civil War had already been over for weeks, but news traveled slowly back then.

Juneteenth is recognized in all 50 states.

Share your celebration on social media using the hashtag "Juneteenth."

Article Topic Follows: National-World

Jump to comments ↓

CNN Newsource

Author Profile Photo

Dillon Fuhrman

If you have any story ideas, reach out to him at

Author Profile Photo

Jalen Fong

Jalen joined KYMA in 2022 and is a morning anchor/producer. Send your story ideas to him at:


KYMA KECY is committed to providing a forum for civil and constructive conversation.

Please keep your comments respectful and relevant. You can review our Community Guidelines by clicking here

If you would like to share a story idea, please submit it here.

Skip to content