Skip to Content

Arizona and Daylight Savings

City of Yuma

Arizona tested the waters

YUMA, Ariz. (KYMA, KSWT).  For most Americans each March a ritual has to be completed; the act calls on a person to venture throughout their home and find each and every clock and turn them all back an hour. Daylight Savings Time has been around for just over a century that’s according to the Arizona State Library, Archives and Public Records Department.  The ritual affects the Desert Southwest’s California region. Yuma County has opted out of Daylight Savings Time for some time now; but, that hasn’t always been the case.

   In 1918, the United States introduced DST as an effort to save on energy during the First World War; a year later it was repealed.  For the next five decades the state of Arizona plays with the idea of following suit with DST. In 1968, Arizona decides to opt out of Daylight Savings Time, six years Arizona, Idaho and Oregon are exempt from a year-round trial of DST. Fast-forward to the present and Arizona and Hawaii, along with Puerto Rico, American Samoa, Guam, the Northern Marianas and the U.S. Virgin Islands do not observe DST.

   On November 3rd, Daylight Savings Time ended and for those affected had to once again complete their bi-annual ritual of setting back their clocks.

Joe Teposte

Award-Winning Photojournalist, News Professional Trainer, Production, Writer, 20+ Years in Yuma News.


Leave a Reply