Skip to Content

Tax season to begin on January 24

WASHINGTON, D.C. (KYMA, KECY) - The Internal Revenue Service made an announcement about the United States tax season, which will begin on January 24, 2022.

"Planning for the nation's filing season process is a massive undertaking, and IRS teams have been working non-stop these past several months to prepare," IRS Commissioner Chuck Rettig said. "The pandemic continues to create challenges, but the IRS reminds people there are important steps they can take to help ensure their tax return and refund don’t face processing delays."

Having all of your information is encouraged in order to avoid processing and refund delays, with this encouragement extending to those who received an advance Child Tax Credit or Economic Impact Payment in 2021.

Anyone who received these payments may have special letters sent by the IRS, otherwise, amounts can be checked on

The due date for filing taxes is April 18, 2022, but some states may get an extension depending on if a holiday lands around the due date.

The IRS also encourages looking up online resources before calling, as many be on the phone and wait times may be long as a result.

“Our phone volumes continue to remain at record-setting levels,” Rettig said. “We urge people to check and establish an online account to help them access information more quickly. We have invested in developing new online capacities to make this a quick and easy way for taxpayers to get the information they need.”

Filing electronically and choosing to receive a direct deposit is the fastest way to receive any returns

Tax filing is available for free starting January 14 through IRS Free File, which is an electronic program for those who made less than $73,000 in 2021.

Author Profile Photo

Marcos Icahuate

Author Profile Photo

Adonis Albright

Adonis Albright first found his passion in local news as a production assistant in San Diego after getting his Bachelor’s degree at San Diego State University.

If you have a great story idea, you can reach him at


Leave a Reply

Skip to content