Skip to Content
Top Stories

YUHSD Teacher of the Year candidates


YUMA, Ariz. (KYMA, KECY)- 16 teachers from the Yuma Union High School District are nominated for Teacher of the Year.

YUHSD says the teachers were selected as Outstanding High School Teacher and Oustanding First Teacher for each campus.

Both annual awards are nominated by their school communities and are a part of the Yuma County Teacher of the Year process.

Here is the complete list of nominees:

Outstanding High School Teacher:

Tawny Saldana, Culinary – Cibola

Anthony Clayton, Science – Cibola

Jasmine Pinela, Math – Gila Ridge

Hillary Stock, Nursing – Gila Ridge

Sgt. Maj. Colen Laarman, JROTC – Kofa

Jayden Gubbels, English – Kofa

Catherine Denson, Education Professions – San Luis

Timothy Ames, Drama – San Luis

Jason Morien, Social Studies – Vista

Ernesto Mendoza, Math – Yuma

Jaclyn Hill, Culinary – Yuma

Outstanding First Year Teacher:

Michael Masson, Drama – Cibola

Talia Baca, English – Gila Ridge

Anjielyn Chang, Drama – Kofa

Kathya Cazarez, Physical Education – San Luis

Evan Fazz, History – Yuma

“The most rewarding part of being nominated in the Yuma County Teacher of the Year process is being recognized by the school community where one works,” YUHSD Superintendent Gina Thompson said.

“These nominations are not just coming from their campus leaders, but also their peers and that is ultimately even more fulfilling.”

News / Yuma County

Sumiko Keil

Sumiko Keil has served as the Digital Content Producer since March 2019.


Leave a Reply